The Tilbury Poppies - Can the factory girls work together for a better future? A heartwarming WWI family saga (lydbok) av Sue Wilsher
Legg til i ønskeliste
Sue Wilsher (forfatter), Annie Aldington (oppleser)

The Tilbury Poppies lydbok

291,-
The bestselling wartime saga adored by readers everywhere. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas Can the factory girls work together for a better future? Essex, 1916 Lily is a housemaid up at St Clere's Hall. But times are changing with the outbreak of war. With a husband bent on signing up for the trenches and a lecherous master of the house, Lily is forced to leave. Doing her bit for the war effort - and bringing in more money for the family - Lily goes to work in a factory …

Andre har også kjøpt

Undertittel Can the factory girls work together for a better future? A heartwarming WWI family saga
Forfattere Sue Wilsher (forfatter), Annie Aldington (oppleser)
Utgitt 17 oktober 2019
Lengde 10:30
Sjanger Romaner, Skjønnlitteratur
Språk English
Format mp3
DRM-beskyttelse App-only
ISBN 9781405543910
The bestselling wartime saga adored by readers everywhere. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas Can the factory girls work together for a better future? Essex, 1916 Lily is a housemaid up at St Clere's Hall. But times are changing with the outbreak of war. With a husband bent on signing up for the trenches and a lecherous master of the house, Lily is forced to leave. Doing her bit for the war effort - and bringing in more money for the family - Lily goes to work in a factory making explosives to send to the trenches. It's a hard job. The munitionettes must face terrible working conditions, the constant danger of accidents and air strikes and a patronising, self-serving boss. And then someone she never wanted to see there arrives. Lady Charlotte, the pampered daughter of the Hall, joins the factory as a supervisor... Lily and Charlotte have choices they never had before - but in the shadow of the Great War, can the factory girls work together for a better future? A heart-warming story of love, loss and friendship, set against the backdrop of wartime England REAL READERS love Sue Wilsher's novels: 'An outstanding read' 'A very well written story, set in WW1 around munition industries and women's part in the war effort' 'Excellent read, absorbing from page to page' 'Brilliant book. This was the third one I've read from this author and can't fault it at all - would highly recommend'