Jakob's Colours (lydbok) av Lindsay Hawdon
Legg til i ønskeliste
Lindsay Hawdon (forfatter), Anna Bentinck (oppleser)

Jakob's Colours lydbok

176,- Veil. pris: 201,-Spar: 25,-
(0)
Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. 'Remarkable - brave, big-hearted and beautifully written' Andrew Miller, author of the Costa Award winner PURE Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box i…
Forfattere Lindsay Hawdon (forfatter), Anna Bentinck (oppleser)
Utgitt 20 februar 2019
Lengde 11:02
Sjangrer Romaner, Skjønnlitteratur
Språk English
Format mp3
DRM-beskyttelse App-only
ISBN 9781444797701
Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief. 'Remarkable - brave, big-hearted and beautifully written' Andrew Miller, author of the Costa Award winner PURE Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y. He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone. 'Don't be afraid, Jakob,' his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. 'See the colours, my boy,' he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs. Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour. (P)2015 Hodder & Stoughton